Mappedin alternatives: how DigiMaps compares
Mappedin is a mature indoor mapping platform with a self-serve editor, AI mapping, native SDKs and a free plan, hosted on AWS and Azure. DigiMaps is the alternative to look at if the map must run on your own server, your kiosks need managing as a fleet, or Arabic and step-free routing are hard requirements.
Last updated
A Mappedin, as its trust page states
On-premises hosting: not mentioned on the page.
B DigiMaps, two ways to run it
Option 2 can run air-gapped: no outbound calls by default, updates by offline bundle.
What Mappedin does well
On several points Mappedin is ahead of us. Everything here comes from Mappedin’s own pages, read on 24 October 2026.
Making the map
- AI mapping
- Upload CAD, DWG, PDF, PNG or WEBP floor plans into its Editor. The AI draws walls, doors and windows, and newer models pick up labels, lifts and escalators.
- Free start
- A free plan, promoted on the homepage as “Start for free”.
- Map-making service
- Map design, 3D modelling, animations and points of interest, for an additional fee.
Screens and phones
- Display
- Maps on tablets, touchscreens and large displays. Samsung VXT and Omnivex are named as signage platforms.
- Phones
- QR codes, and shareable links with no app to download.
- Directory ads
- Ad scheduling and programmatic ad providers, with control over which directory shows each ad.
Developers and data
- SDKs
- Mappedin JS, iOS, Android and React Native, plus its own venue format, MVF.
- IMDF
- IMDF export, and support for Apple’s Indoor Maps Program.
- Workplace tools
- Integrations with Microsoft Places, TableAir and Yarooms.
Security
- Audit report
- An independent Type 2 audit report covering security, privacy, availability and confidentiality, sent on request.
- Penetration testing
- Carried out on all of its core applications, according to its trust page.
Which one belongs on your shortlist
Most projects lean one way once you list what the building actually needs. These are the signs we would read.
Mappedin is the better pick if:
- You want to start mapping yourself today, on a free plan.
- Your developers need native iOS, Android or React Native SDKs now.
- Your security team needs an independent audit report before purchase.
- You plan to sell ads on directory screens through programmatic ad providers.
- Hosting in AWS North America or Azure in the US or EU suits your data rules.
DigiMaps may fit better if:
- The map and visitor data must stay on a server in your building, with or without internet.
- You run your own kiosks and want remote reload, screenshots, offline alerts and uptime reports.
- Arabic is a first language on your screens, laid out right to left.
- Step-free routes must never include stairs, and kiosks need a reach mode for seated visitors.
- Every map change should be reviewed, scheduled and reversible.
How DigiMaps runs on your own server Arabic and English wayfinding, right to left
Mappedin and DigiMaps, row by row
Each Mappedin cell comes from Mappedin’s own website. Not stated means we could not find it on their public pages, not that the product lacks it. DigiMaps cells come from our product audit, gaps included.
| Capability | Mappedin | DigiMaps |
|---|---|---|
| Making the map | AI mapping in its Editor from CAD, DWG, PDF, PNG or WEBP uploads | DXF imported natively. DWG through a converter. PDF or image traced by AI, then reviewed by your team |
| Self-serve start | Free plan advertised | No. A demo, then a pilot on one site |
| Map-making service | Map design and 3D modelling, for an additional fee | Our team converts CAD sets, and IMDF or GeoJSON files |
| Pricing | By square footage or square metres. No prices published | Per venue. No prices published yet |
| Kiosks and screens | Display product for touchscreens and large displays. Samsung VXT and Omnivex named | Kiosk mode on Android 9 boards with 2 GB, Windows kiosk PCs and ChromeOS |
| Kiosk fleet management Remote reload, screenshots, offline alerts | Not stated | Heartbeats, five remote commands, offline alerts by email or webhook, monthly uptime reports |
| Kiosk without network | Not stated | Keeps searching and routing from its cached map after the first load |
| Kiosk to phone | QR codes and shareable links, no app download | QR hand-off keeps the destination, language and step-free choice. No app |
| Idle screens | Ad scheduling and programmatic ad providers on directory screens | Signage playlists with proof of play. RSS, JSON Feed and iCal feeds for other players |
| Languages | 40+ languages on its malls page. SDK multi-language only for enterprise maps made in its CMS | Venue content in any of 54 languages, up to 24 per venue. Kiosk interface in English, Arabic, Russian and Chinese, each translation approved by your team |
| Arabic, right to left | Arabic translation in its CMS, per a November 2025 news release. Right-to-left layout not stated | Full right-to-left layout. Arabic search matches letter variants |
| Accessibility statement | States WCAG 2.1 AA on its malls page | Designed to support WCAG 2.1 AA, with automated accessibility checks in our build pipeline. No third-party audit yet |
| Accessible routes | “Barrier-free wayfinding” on its malls page | Six routing profiles. Step-free routes never use stairs. Kiosk reach mode |
| Phone positioning | Visual positioning with “no beacons” on its malls page. Its help centre lists Apple Indoor Maps, IndoorAtlas or beacons | Kiosk “You are here” and QR today. Phone blue dot as a commissioned pilot. Accepts your own positioning feed |
| IMDF | IMDF export. Supports Apple’s Indoor Maps Program | IMDF, GeoJSON and KML export. No Apple validation claimed |
| SDKs | Mappedin JS, iOS, Android and React Native | Iframe embed and JavaScript API. Web SDK on request. No native SDKs yet |
| Cloud hosting | AWS in North America. Azure in the US and EU | DigiMaps cloud, in a region agreed in your contract |
| On your own server | Not stated | Yes, on Ubuntu or Windows, including air-gapped sites |
| Security evidence | Independent Type 2 audit report on request. Penetration testing on core apps | No certifications or audit reports yet. Threat model and penetration-test scope under NDA |
| Published track record | Named customer venues on its pages | None yet. We are looking for our first pilot sites |
Competitor information from their public websites, checked 24 October 2026. Sources: mappedin.com, Mappedin pricing, Mappedin AI mapping, Mappedin Display, Mappedin digital signage, Mappedin malls page, Mappedin IMDF, Mappedin trust and security, Mappedin developer portal, SDK multi-language, Indoor position requirements, Cenomi news release (Nov 2025). Spotted something out of date? Tell us and we will correct it.
Six questions to ask Mappedin, us, or anyone else
Put them in writing before the demo, and ask each vendor to answer on your floor plan.
- Where will our visitor data be stored, and can the region go in the contract? Mappedin’s trust page names AWS North America and Azure in the US and EU. Public tenders in India and the GCC often specify the location.
- What does a kiosk do when the network drops? Ask to see it with the cable pulled. A DigiMaps kiosk keeps routing from its cached map after the first load.
- Show us Arabic on the kiosk, right to left, including search. A translated label is not the same as a mirrored layout and search that understands Arabic spelling.
- Who checks the AI-traced rooms before visitors see them? Tracing saves drawing time, but a person should approve every room. In DigiMaps, traced rooms land in a review queue.
- Can we export the whole map ourselves, and in which format? Your map should outlive any vendor contract, ours included.
- Which security documents can you send us today? Mappedin offers an audit report. We can’t yet: our threat model and penetration-test scope are available under NDA.
Mappedin or DigiMaps: common questions
What is the main difference between Mappedin and DigiMaps?
Mappedin is a self-serve mapping platform with a free plan, AI mapping, native SDKs and cloud hosting on AWS and Azure. DigiMaps is built around the screens in a building: kiosks managed as a fleet, signage feeds, Arabic right to left and deep step-free routing, in our cloud or on one server on your network.
Does Mappedin run on-premises?
Mappedin’s trust page describes hosting in AWS North America and Azure in the US and EU, and does not mention on-premises hosting. If you need it, ask Mappedin directly. DigiMaps runs on one server on your network, including air-gapped sites with no internet connection.
Does DigiMaps have a free plan like Mappedin?
No. There is no self-serve plan yet. You book a demo, and we scope a pilot on one site with you. Prices are per venue and quoted in writing.
Can we move our existing map from Mappedin to DigiMaps?
We have no direct connector for Mappedin data. Our team can bring in IMDF or GeoJSON files, and we can always start again from your CAD drawings. Check which export formats your Mappedin plan includes before you plan the move.
Which is stronger on accessibility?
Mappedin states WCAG 2.1 AA on its malls page. DigiMaps is designed to support WCAG 2.1 AA, with automated accessibility checks in our build pipeline and no third-party audit yet, so ask both vendors what has been audited. DigiMaps adds six routing profiles with a hard step-free rule, a kiosk reach mode, 7:1 high contrast and spoken directions.
Test DigiMaps on your own floor plan
Bring a floor plan and your requirements to a 30-minute walkthrough. We will answer every row of the table for your building, including the ones where Mappedin may suit you better.